New Zealand has various different types of institutions offering different types of courses and qualifications. All post-secondary education is called 'tertiary education', no matter what type of course or institution.

New Zealand has strict quality assurance systems to ensure the qualification and education students receive is meaningful and internationally recognised. The New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA) sets and regulates qualifications, including those offered wholly to international students, and only those tertiary qualifications and providers that are quality assured by a Quality Assurance Body (QAB) can receive financial assistance from the government.

In New Zealand you will find:

How to applyThere are ten levels of qualification in New Zealand:

  • 1-4: Certificates
  • 5-6: Diplomas
  • 7: Bachelor's degree, graduate diplomas and certificates
  • 8: Postgraduate diplomas and certificates, and bachelor's degrees with honours
  • 9 & 10: Master's degrees and doctoral degrees

In New Zealand, institutions registered with the NZQA will offer internationally recognised qualifications, however some private institutions may offer students qualifications they have developed themselves. It is important to understand that this may not be a recognised qualification.

To ensure that you enrol on a quality course visit KiwiQuals, the New Zealand Register of Quality Assured Qualifications. All qualifications and institutions that have been approved can be found on this site. Also, all institutions that accept international students must be signatories of the Code of Practice.

For further information on internationally recognised qualifications and quality assurance visit NZQA, the government body responsible for assuring quality throughout tertiary education in New Zealand.

For more information about entry requirements and applying, see the NZQA website or visit the Educated New Zealand Applying page.